The Majlis Archive

Category

Food and Beverages

516 answers.

Is Rey fish permissible?

As long as Rey Fish is fish, and not another species of sea animal, it will be halaal. All types of fish are halaal.

The Majlis Vol 21 No 11, p.5

An ingredient of a cheese is 'non -animal rennet'.

If the list of ingredients state nonanimal rennet, then it is halaal provided there are no other lethal ingredients such as gelatine and alcohol (Lethal in this context = Haraam)

The Majlis Vol 21 No 12, p.2

Food was mistakenly left uncovered the whole night.

Whilst eating the food is permissible, there is a possibility of shaitaani contamination since the food was left open the entire night. If you eat the food, recite Surah Faatihah…

The Majlis Vol 21 No 12, p.4

Is the ingredient MSG halaal?

MSG is a poison causing a variety of very serious sicknesses. According to the Shariah, a harmful substance is haraam for eating. Msg is also made by means of fermentation which…

The Majlis Vol 21 No 12, p.4