The Majlis Archive

Food and Beverages The Majlis Vol 21 No 06, p.5

Soya sauce is made by a process if fermentation.

Question

Soya sauce is made by a process if fermentation. The end product contains 3% alcohol. But the sauce does not intoxicate. This kind of alcohol does not intoxicate. Is Soya sauce halaal?

Answer

Regardless of the sauce not intoxicating, it is haraam. A substance which is not intoxicating will not be alcohol. A fundamental property of all alcohols is the intoxicating attribute. However, due to the small quantity the sauce will not be intoxicating nevertheless, Rasulullah (sallallahu alayhi wasallam) has prohibited even a small quantity of a substances which intoxicates when consumed in a large quantity notwithstanding the non-intoxicating effect of a small quantity.

View on themajlis.co.za
Published in
The Majlis Vol 21 No 06
PDF page
5

Appears under SOYA SAUCE.

Was this page helpful?