The Majlis Archive

Food and Beverages The Majlis Vol 21 No 06, p.2

I am going for Hajj this year, Insha'Allah.

Question

I am going for Hajj this year, Insha'Allah. Is there anywhere in Makkah and Madinah where halaal meat is available?

Answer

Abstain from all meat and chicken when in Makkah and Madinah. Plenty of non-meat food is available. Eat fruit, vegetables, honey, nuts, bread, etc. But beware of the haraam meat and chicken. The eggs too are diseased. Don't by chips from a restaurant which fries the chips in the same oil in which the carrion chickens are fried. Even the very liberal Arab Ulama have ruled that 95% of the meat entering Saudi Arabia is haraam. Don't ruin your ibaadat with carrion consumption. Most of the meat is halaalized haraam carrion which is imported from kuffaar countries. Even pork gets mixed up with the other carrion. Even the locally processed commercial chickens are carrion. They operate in the same way as the haraam killing systems in vogue in South Africa. You will be there for only a few days. Exercise a little restraint and control your carnivorous lust.

View on themajlis.co.za
Published in
The Majlis Vol 21 No 06
PDF page
2

Appears under Questions and Answers (approximate).

Was this page helpful?