Question
Is the rennet obtained from a calf that has not been slaughtered according to the Shariah halaal? According to Imaam Abu Hanifah (rahmatullah alayh), it is halaal. But according to some of his Students such as Imaam Abu Yusuf and Imaam Muhammad (rahmatullah alayhima), it would not be halaal. Would it be permissible for Hanafis to eat food containing such rennet?
Answer
The misconception existing today on this issue even among Ulama is the effect of confusion. The difference of opinion among the Hanafi Fuqaha does not relate to rennet. It pertains to the substance called Infahah which is the curdled milk inside the stomach of the calf which is slaughtered soon after it has drunk its mother's milk. Thus infahah, not rennet, obtained from even a ghair mazbooh calf (i.e. not slaughtered according to the Shariah) is halaal. According to fatwa it is permissible, not according to Taqwa. However, nowadays cheese does not contain calf infahah. It contains rennet which is the enzyme extracted from the linings of animal's stomach, hence the cheese is haraam. Any food containing such rennet is haraam.
- Source
- themajlis.co.za
- Published in
- The Majlis Vol 20 No 11
- PDF page
- 3
Appears under Questions and Answers (approximate).