Question
According to the article I am sending to you, the meat of the People of the Book is halaal regardless of the country it comes from. As long as the slaughterers are Jews or Christians, the meat is halaal. Please comment.
Answer
The article pertaining to the meat of the Ahl-e-Kitaab is misleading. You will observe in the penultimate paragraph the following statement: "It should be pointed out that the Dhabeehah of the People of the Book is Halal regardless of whether their country is considered to be part of the Daar-ul-Harb or Daar-us-Salaam."
While this statement is correct, the author endeavours to trade the idea that even the carrion of the People of the Book is halaal. When the carrion of Muslims is not halaal, how can the carrion of the Kuffaar be halaal simply because they are Jews or Christians? The 'dhabeehah' of the Ahl-e-Kitaab is halaal, not the carrion they produce in this age. Furthermore, the Fuqaha have ruled that it is Makrooh to consume even the dhabeehah of the Ahl-e-Kitaab when Muslim-slaughtered meat is available.
Dhabeehah is an animal which has been slaughtered in the same way as Muslims slaughter, including the mention of Allah's Name. Nowadays, there is no Christian dhabeehah. Christians no longer slaughter in accordance with the rites of the Shariah of Nabi Musa (alayhis salaam) and Nabi Isaa (alayhis salaam), hence their killed animals are Haraam.
In the present time, only the animals slaughtered by some orthodox Yahood would be classified dhabeehah. Just any 'kosher' meat is not necessarily 'dhabeehah' in the same way as SANHA and MJC certified meat is not halaal despite them being Muslim.
- Source
- themajlis.co.za
- Published in
- The Majlis Vol 20 No 06
- PDF page
- 2
Appears under THE MEAT OF THE AHL-E-KITAAB.