The Majlis Archive

Food and Beverages The Majlis Vol 20 No 04, p.3

Malaysian sweets containing bovine gelatine are currently being imported by Muslim traders on a large scale.

Question

Malaysian sweets containing bovine gelatine are currently being imported by Muslim traders on a large scale. These sweets containing gelatine, bear a Malaysian halaal stamp. These sweets are also approved by SANHA who affixes its halaal sticker to the sweets. Can we consume these sweets on the basis of the country of origin being Muslim?

Answer

There is no proof that the Malaysian gelatine is halaal. Malaysia imports huge quantities of meat – haraam 'halaalized' meat from various countries. There is valid reason to believe that the gelatine is not halaal. Besides gelatine, the sweets contain all the ingredients which sweets usually have such as emulsifiers, stabilizers, colourants, flavourants, etc. All these substances at a minimum are mushtabah. These substances are obtained from both plant and animal sources. It is therefore necessary to abstain from all these imported sweets regardless of the country of origin. In this era Muslim countries are not governed by the Shariah. They all, without a single exception, have embraced kufr law and kufr lifestyle.

View on themajlis.co.za
Published in
The Majlis Vol 20 No 04
PDF page
3

Appears under Questions and Answers (approximate).

Was this page helpful?