The Majlis Archive

Food and Beverages The Majlis Vol 20 No 03, p.3

In prison some of us have opted for a non-meat diet since all the meat and chickens served in prison are haraam.

Question

In prison some of us have opted for a non-meat diet since all the meat and chickens served in prison are haraam. However, even the non -meat diet contains haraam ingredients. But we have no choice. Now when we eat this haraam non-meat food, should we recite Bismillaah?

Answer

If it is confirmed that the non-meat food contains haraam ingredients, then when beginning to eat it and after having eaten it, recite Istighfaar. Also make a silent dua imploring Allah Ta'ala to provide halaal and tayyib rizq.

View on themajlis.co.za
Published in
The Majlis Vol 20 No 03
PDF page
3

Appears under Questions and Answers (approximate).

Was this page helpful?