The Majlis Archive

Food and Beverages The Majlis Vol 20 No 03, p.2

Some Ulama say that cheese containing animal rennet acquired from even such animals not Islamically slaughtered is halaal because Rasulullah (sallalla

Question

Some Ulama say that cheese containing animal rennet acquired from even such animals not Islamically slaughtered is halaal because Rasulullah (sallallahu alayhi wasalam) and the Sahaabah had consumed cheese with such rennet. Please comment.

Answer

The fundamental error of those who proclaim cheese containing the rennet of ghair mathbooh animals to be halaal is that they are confusing rennet with the substance known as infahah. They have failed to understand the difference between infahah and rennet, hence their error. Cheese containing the infahah of halaal ghair mathbooh animals is halaal. We say that cheese with such infahah is halaal, and this hukm is khilaaf-e-qiyaas (in conflict with analogical reasoning). Since Rasulullah (sallallahu alayhi wasallam) and the Sahaabah had consumed such cheese, we say and believe that it is halaal.

However, it will be wrong to say that cheese in which haraam fat has been added is halaal. Since the hillat of the ghair mathbooh infihah cheese is khilaaf-e-qiyaas, it (the hukm of hillat) cannot be made ta'diyah (extended) to another haraam substance. The error of the halaalizers of such cheese is that they say that rennet from ghair mathbooh animals is halaal because infahah is halaal. And, this is manifestly erroneous. We too say that cheese containing infahah from ghair mathbooh animals is halaal. But infahah is not rennet as the dictionaries say. We have to look at the haqeeqat (reality) of infahah, not at the erroneous or customary meaning given to it by the present-day dictionaries.

View on themajlis.co.za
Published in
The Majlis Vol 20 No 03
PDF page
2

Appears under Questions and Answers (approximate).

Was this page helpful?