Question
Is cheese in which calf rennet is used, halaal?
Answer
Rennet is an enzyme extracted from the stomachs of cattle. Commercial rennet is not the substance called Infahah mentioned in the kutub of Fiqh. If the rennet is acquired from animals not slaughtered according to the Shariah, then it will be haraam. Cheese containing such rennet is haraam. Cheese containing plant rennet is halaal.
- Source
- themajlis.co.za
- Published in
- The Majlis Vol 19 No 06
- PDF page
- 4
Appears under Questions and Answers (approximate).