Question
Is it permissible to become a vegetarian due to all meat and chickens nowadays being haraam and doubtful?
Answer
It is not permissible to make an intention to become a vegetarian. You are required to only abstain from haraam and mushtabah foods. Abstention from haraam meat does not mean becoming a vegetarian. Abstention from haraam meat and the halaalized carrion chickens is Waajib.
- Source
- themajlis.co.za
- Published in
- The Majlis Vol 24 No 01
- PDF page
- 12
Appears under THE AHL-E-BID’AH AND THE APPROACH OF THE CHISHTIYYAH (approximate).