Question
Some Muslims prepare sweetmeats for their Hindu friends when it is the Hindu festival of diwali. Please comment.
Answer
Participation, assisting and involvement in any way with diwali are haraam. It is a religious festival of an idolatrous/mushrik people. It is not permissible for Muslims to prepare sweets, etc. on this haraam occasion for their mushrik 'friends'.
- Source
- themajlis.co.za
- Published in
- The Majlis Vol 22 No 11
- PDF page
- 4
Appears under Questions and Answers (approximate).